New York City’s Heating Rules for Landlords
The City Housing Maintenance Code and State Multiple Dwelling Law requires building owners to provide heat and hot water to all tenants. Building owners are required to provide hot water 365 days per year at a constant minimum temperature of 120°. Between October 1st and May 31st ("heating season"), building owners are also required to provide tenants with heat under the following conditions:
- Between 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM, if the outside temperature falls below 55°, the inside temperature is required to be at least 68°.
- Between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM, if the temperature outside falls below 40°, the inside temperature is required to be at least 55°.
Any landlord who does not follow these guidelines is subject to civil penalties of up to $1,000/day. For more information, go to the New York City Department of Housing Preservation & Development’s website.
Contact your local heating oil dealer for more information about the city’s heating rules.